Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ERIC, the Education Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window
The world's largest digital library of education literature.
Explora Educators Edition This link opens in a new window
Explora educators edition offers new resources like lesson plans, students tools, curriculum standards and links to sites valuable for teachers. Through this interface you can search more than 2100 full text scholarly journals and over 1,700 peer-reviewed, full-text journals. The collection provides a focus on education by providing full text for over 500 high-quality education journals.
Gale This link opens in a new window
Go to Psychology Collection
Rutland Library Resources
Eight Steps to Classroom Management Success by
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2009
Introduction: Why do students misbehave? -- Prologue: Prepare yourself -- Step 1 : give effective single-action commands -- Step 2 : give effective warnings -- Step 3 : handle flare-ups and tantrums -- Step 4 : construct a behavioral contract -- Step 5 : manage transitions -- Step 6 : discourage interruptions -- Step 7 : improve behaviors in out-of-class settings -- Step 8 : develop an effective homework routine -- Conclusion: Maximize the improvement with additional techniques.
Getting Beyond Bullying and Exclusion, PreK-5 by
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2013-02-22
Children with challenges can encounter difficulties in navigating their journeys within inclusive classrooms. This book focuses on the vulnerabilities of youngsters to be bullied, especially those with learning disabilities, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, Asperger syndrome, and gifted abilities, and also discusses why these children sometimes become bullies themselves. "Getting Beyond Bullying and Exclusion, PreKOCo5 "deepens teachersOCO understanding of common challenges and provides an intimate and realistic view of how children with special needs can become easy targets for bullies. The book also shows how adults can inadvertently facilitate the development of victim behavior in children or contribute to the development of bully personalities. With an abundance of tried-and-true techniques for helping children manage emotions and build on their strengths, this book examines: A Bullying styles, including classic male and female models A How teachers can prevent and stop bullying A Methods for intervening early before a negative dynamic progresses into middle or high school A Strategies for working with overprotective parents A A OC Ninety-Second-a-Day Self-Esteem Prescription PlanOCO to improve childrenOCOs self-image Ideal for both teachers and counselors, this book increases the sensitivity and expertise that educators need to help children with special needs become more resilient and experience success at school.
The Exceptional Teacher's Handbook by
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2014-08-26
The first year in the career of a special education teacher is filled with expectation and promise. Addressing the most common needs of beginning special education teachers, The Exceptional Teacher's Handbook helps new educators move confidently from preplanning to post-planning for the entire school year. The authors present a step-by-step management approach complete with planning checklists and other ready-to-use forms within the context of IDEA 2004 and NCLB. Written from the perspective of a classroom teacher, this popular reference offers updates on: • Recognized disabilities • Best instructional practices for getting the most out of your students • Successful parent conferences • Effective plans for professional learning • Alternate assessments, emergencies in the school setting, education terminology, and more Actively address challenges and concerns with this one-stop handbook that will help smooth the transition from student teacher to professional educator.
Leading and Managing a Differentiated Classroom by
Call Number: LB 1031 .T67 2010
Publication Date: 2010-11-15
Today's teachers are responsible for a greater variety of learners with a greater diversity of needs than ever before. When you add in the ever-changing dynamics of technology and current events, the complexity of both students' and teachers' lives grows exponentially. Far too few teachers, however, successfully teach the whole class with the individual student in mind. In Leading and Managing a Differentiated Classroom, Carol Ann Tomlinson and Marcia B. Imbeau tackle the issue of how to address student differences thoughtfully and proactively. The first half of the book focuses on what it means for a teacher to effectively lead a differentiated classroom. Readers will learn how to be more confident and effective leaders for and in student-focused and responsive classrooms. The second half of the book focuses on the mechanics of managing a differentiated classroom. A teacher who has the best intentions, a dynamic curriculum, and plans for differentiation cannot--and will not--move forward unless he or she is at ease with translating those ideas into classroom practice. In other words, teachers who are uncomfortable with flexible classroom management will not differentiate instruction, even if they understand it, accept the need for it, and can plan for it. Tomlinson and Imbeau argue that the inherent interdependence of leading and managing a differentiated classroom is at the very heart of 21st-century education. This essential guide to differentiation also includes a helpful teacher's toolkit of activities and teaching strategies that will help any teacher expand his or her capacity to make room for and work tirelessly on behalf of every student.
Successful Inclusion Strategies for Early Childhood Teachers by
Call Number: LC 1201 .S545 2010
Publication Date: 2009-10-01
Proven and practical advice for early childhood teachers in inclusive or mixed-ability classrooms. With increasing emphasis on inclusive classrooms, primary and elementary school teachers can use the information included in Successful Inclusion Strategies for Early Childhood Teachers to build a supportive, caring, learner-driven environment that takes into account the needs of all students. Covering topics from incorporating the needs of students with a variety of special needs, to writing or modifying curriculum that differentiates for students of varying abilities, this book offers field-tested strategies for teachers in a concise, friendly format. The authors also provide an overview of how special education law affects inclusive classrooms. The book provides multiple vignettes describing special needs, including autism, ADHD, visual and hearing impairments, and developmental delays most often found in inclusive classrooms so teachers can match strategies to their students.
Succeeding in the Inclusive Classroom by
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Ideal for Introduction to Special Education/Introduction to Exceptionalities courses, this text provides strategies pre-service and in-service teachers can use to apply the principles of Universal Design for Learning (UDL) to their lesson planning. UDL lesson planning considers "up front" potential barriers that could limit access to instruction for some learners and helps teachers brainstorm possible solutions before lessons begin. The lessons included in this text are meant as a starting point for general education teachers who have students with special needs in their classrooms and can be adapted for primary and secondary learners with a wide range of challenges. Key Features: - This text consists of lesson plans to address learners from ten major disability areas covered in every standard Introductory textbook: Intellectual Disabilities; Learning Disabilities; Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder; Emotional or Behavioral Disorders; Autism Spectrum Disorders; Speech and Language Disorders; Hearing Impairments; Visual Impairments; Physical Disabilities; Health Disabilities, and Related Low-Incidence Disabilities; and Gifted and Talented. - Metcalf provides one lesson plan at the primary school level and one at the secondary level for each area of exceptionality.
Speak, Move, Play, and Learn with Children on the Autism Spectrum by
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2012-01-15
This practical resource is brimming with ideas and guidance for using simple ideas from speech and language pathology and occupational therapy to boost communication, sensory integration, and coordination skills in children on the autism spectrum. Suitable for use in the classroom, at home, and in community settings, it is packed with easy-to-follow, goal-oriented activities and lesson plans centering around arts and crafts, music-making, cookery, sensory activities, and skills for daily living. The activities all use materials and objects which are readily available in the home or classroom, and can easily be adapted to suit children of different abilities, including those who are non-verbal. This book is perfect for teachers, speech and language pathologists, and occupational therapists who need fresh and effective activity ideas for the classroom or therapy room, as well as for parents and other caregivers who want to help their child on the autism spectrum to speak, move, play...and learn!
Multicultural Gifted Education by
Call Number: LC 3993.9 .F658 2011
Publication Date: 2011-08-01
Each year, the United States witnesses significant changes in the demographics of its citizens. Accordingly, schools -- and the students we teach -- are also changing. With such changes come the need, responsibility, and obligation for educators to provide students with an education that is both rigorous and culturally responsive. This book bridges the gap that exists between educating advanced learners and educating culturally different learners. Multicultural Gifted Education addresses various topics, including racially and culturally diverse students and families, historical and legal perspectives on educating gifted and minority students, culturally responsive curriculum and assessment, and counseling students from a multicultural perspective.
Building Classroom Discipline by
Publication Date: 2013-01-07
On the New Edition of Building Classroom Discipline "I feel the book is the best overview of Classroom Management for an entry-level teacher. It has a strong theoretical basis and provides students with a sound overview of classroom management. . . . This book has two main goals. The first is to help readers understand and become highly competent in today's major concepts, terminology, approaches, and strategies in discipline. Toward that end, information is presented on the nature of behavior and misbehavior, students' behavioral traits, teachers' obligations in discipline, and the goals and procedures of today's most respected approaches in management. The second goal is to assist teachers in organizing systems of management that best meet their needs and those of their students. A comprehensive review of outstanding strategies and tactics is presented with further information and guidance to help teachers develop effective, well-rounded systems of management and discipline for any class.
Classroom Motivation by
Publication Date: 2013-02-27
Uniquely structured around the typical daily classroom practices of teachers, Classroom Motivation focuses on the practical applications of motivation research. The book is organized around actual research-based instructional practices that teachers use everyday in their classrooms, like the use of rewards, the grouping of students for learning activities, the nature of academic tasks, and the assessment of student learning. The book also examines the research base behind topics that are appealing to educators, including promoting self-esteem, providing students with autonomy, and holding high expectations. The new edition includes even more case-studies of actual classroom teachers and additional applications exercises.
Discipline Survival Guide for the Secondary Teacher by
Publication Date: 2010-11-09
Ideas for creating an orderly classroom where learning can thrive This unique, hands-on book is packed with tested ideas and strategies to help you create a classroom environment where good conduct and high achievement are the norm and where students become self- motivated and take responsibility for their actions. The second edition is fully revised and updated to reflect changes in the past decade. Puts the focus on the teacher as a leader and coach who encourages students to buy into a classroom management approach Offers information about setting limits, safety issues, and protecting student′s privacy Covers topics including technology; disruptions in the classroom form i-pods and cell phones; computers in the classroom; motivating, engaging, instructing students; and communicating with students and parents This must have resource offers a comprehensive and accessible guide to disciple in the school setting, complete with handy forms, checklists, and self-assessments.
Fifteen Positive Behavior Strategies to Increase Academic Success by
Publication Date: 2014-11-12
Educators want to know what interventions really work with specific students with challenging behaviors, and they must know how to support good behavior rather than punish bad behavior. This book is designed for all teachers, both general and special education, as they strive to work effectively with this increasing number of students. Drawing upon research and the author's many years of experience in working with students with significant behavioral challenges, this book focuses on fifteen behavioral interventions that research has proven to be effective.
Motivation to Learn : Transforming Classroom Culture to Support Student Achievement by
Publication Date: 2014-04-02
Harness the power of motivation to transform the learning experience! nbsp; When properly channeled, motivation propels learning forward. Yet teachers across all grade levels and disciplines struggle to recognize and cultivate this dynamic, social force in the classroom. This essential resource proves that all students are motivated to learn, and provides authentic tools to create and sustain a classroom community that is highly engaged. You'll discover: Reflection activities that promote student voice and self-efficacy as well as assess existing motivation levels Case studies and best practices based on current motivation theory and research Strategies to design meaningful learning tasks and build positive relationships with students and colleagues.
The Creative Teacher, 2nd Edition by
Publication Date: 2014-01-09
Give your lesson plans a jolt of creativity and get better results from your students. Winner of a Teacher's Choice Award! To keep your students engaged in the classroom, you have to get them excited about learning. From the authors of The Organized Teacher, this award-winning resourceoffers hundreds of creative ideas to reenergize your lesson plans for any subject, across all grades (K−6)--from waking up the tired book report to making math fun. Just a few of the ideas inside The Creative Teacher, Second Edition: "I woke up five inches tall" and other quick-start creative-writing prompts How-it-works science experiments with electricity, ice cream, volcanoes--even how to make flubber Enthusiasm-generating math tools--from clock and fraction templates to creating your own money . . . and more! This new edition has been revised to align with the Common Core Standards and boasts a new CD-ROM with many pages of reproducible content including worksheets, project ideas, templates for journal pages, and more. From submarine sandwich book reports to graphic organizers to help incorporating writing into math curriculum, The Creative Teacher, Second Edition, has ideas and materials to add zing to your classroom plans as you incorporate the Common Core Standards.
The Organized Teacher by
Publication Date: 2012-01-03
Everything you need to know to run an organized and flourishing classroom, even if it is your first year teaching! The Organized Teacher has been a faithful companion for thousands of new and veteran teachers alike. It has helped instructors like you get along with a principal, arrange the desks in a room, organize a field trip, and much, much more. Now this classic bestseller has been revised with fresh ideas and boasts a CD-ROM bursting with printable checklists and templates. Inside you'll find: Reproducible pages ready for use, including charts, diagrams, guidelines, sample record pages, lesson plan sheets, and more Ideas for your classroom, including art projects and playground games More than 150 forms and checklists available on CD-ROM New and improved ideas to make your classroom work efficiently.
An Interpersonal Approach to Classroom Management by
Publication Date: 2012-08-08
Presenting the psychology behind the best-managed classrooms. The authors engage you from the start by contrasting how differently teachers respond to common situations. They expertly bridge the gap between educational psychology and classroom management from the perspectives of student engagement, peer and student-teacher relationships, and teacher self regulation. Both current and prospective teachers will find helpful tools for engaging difficult students, managing challenging relationships, and handling conflict. Key topics include: Student behavioral, relational, and cognitive engagement in the learning process. Classroom structures that contribute to student engagement. The contribution of peer relationships to positive and negative behavior management. Strategies that help children learn to manage their own behavior. Connecting with students who are culturally and linguistically diverse.
Teaching That Matters by
Publication Date: 2014-11-07
Teaching that Matters invites principals and teachers to make changes that will allow all students to succeed. Thoms urges administrators and teachers to reconsider traditional practices in light of today s media-driven culture and digitally wired students. While sensitive to the challenges schools face Thoms is relentless in offering strategies to meet these challenges. Rather than focus on improving test scores, Teaching that Matters advocates that teachers teach to a child s whole symphony, not only to one note. If students only learn to succeed on bubble tests, they will not have opportunities to discover their true potential. Thoms sees the teaching process as a joint venture between teacher and student where the teacher brings learning to the student and, at the same time, brings the student to the learning. This process demands at least as much listening as talking, a new habit that teachers and principals need to learn. By meeting innovative principals and teachers who engage students, this book will help you to learn to change traditional classroom practices into exciting alternatives."
What Really Works in Special and Inclusive Education by
Publication Date: 2013-11-29
As teachers around the world deal with the challenges of inclusive education, they must find effective ways of enhancing their classroom teaching methods. "What Really Works in Special and Inclusive Education" presents teachers with a range of evidence-based strategies they can immediately put into practice in their classrooms. This unique book will be an invaluable resource for educators who may not have the time or the inclination to engage with theory-heavy research, but who wish to ensure that their teaching strategies are up-to-the-minute and proven to be the most effective best practices. Each of the 27 strategies that this book comprises has a substantial research base, a strong theoretical rationale and clear guidelines on their implementation, as well as cautionary advice where necessary.
Taking Sides by
Publication Date: 2014-04-24
The Taking Sides Collection on McGraw-Hill Create(tm) includes current controversial issues in a debate-style format designed to stimulate student interest and develop critical thinking skills. This Collection contains a multitude of current and classic issues to enhance and customize your course. You can browse the entire Taking Sides Collection on Create, or you can search by topic, author, or keywords. Each Taking Sides issues is thoughtfully framed with Learning Outcomes, an Issue Summary, an Introduction, and an Exploring the Issue section featuring Critical Thinking and Reflection, Is There Common Ground?, and Additional Resources and Internet References. Go to McGraw-Hill Create(tm) at www.mcgrawhillcreate.com, click on the "Collections" tab, and select The Taking Sides Collection to browse the entire Collection. Select individual Taking Sides issues to enhance your course, or access and select the entire ExpressBook for an easy, pre-built teaching resource. An online Instructor's Resource Guide with testing material is available for each Taking Sides volume. Using Taking Sides in the Classroom is also an excellent instructor resource. Visit the Create Central Online Learning Center at www.mhhe.com/createcentral for more details.
Teaching Students with Special Needs in Inclusive Settings by
Publication Date: 2011-02-21
This highly praised text takes a categorical approach to covering the opportunities and challenges in creating inclusive classrooms for all students. IEP coverage, new material on Response to Intervention, chapters on both elementary and secondary classrooms as well as new features on differentiating instruction in both elementary and secondary classrooms provide the most coverage in the field of the instructional processes general education teachers will need to know to address the needs of all learners.
Thinking Through Quality Questioning by
Publication Date: 2011-06-29
Asking the right questions is the answer This groundbreaking book provides teachers with an accessible, research-based blueprint for developing student metacognitive skills and ensuring that students take responsibility for their own learning. The authors use the findings of cognitive scientists to highlight quality questioning behaviors and explain how to apply them for improved student outcomes. Key features include: Short vignettes of quality questioning in action Evidence that ties question strategy to student achievement An overview of collaborative, written, electronic, and group response strategies Examples of how quality questioning connects to formative assessment Special note regarding the eBook version: Some figures have been redacted in compliance with digital rights permissions.
Designs for Living and Learning, Second Edition by
Publication Date: 2014-12-02
You likely have dreams for your early childhood environment that are greater than rating scales, regulations, and room arrangements. Designs for Living and Learning has been a favorite resource among educators and caregivers for more than a decade, and this new edition is packed with even more ideas that can be used as you create captivating environments that nurture children, families, and staff while supporting children's learning. With hundreds of all-new colorful photographs of real early learning settings and a multitude of simple and practical concepts for creative indoor and outdoor spaces and learning materials, this book truly is a source of inspiration as you learn how to shape welcoming spaces where children can learn and grow. Expanded chapters include new information reflecting current trends and concerns in early childhood, such as the use of repurposed and nontraditional materials, children in the outdoors, alternative ways to think about providing for learning outcomes, facing and overcoming barriers and negotiating change, and the impact of environmental rating scales in Quality Rating and Improvement Systems (QRIS). Two new chapters are included, one highlighting the transformations of environments with before and after photos and outlines of the process, and the other with examples of soliciting children's ideas about the environment. Deb Curtis and Margie Carter are internationally acclaimed experts in early childhood. They host three-day institutes and professional development seminars for early childhood professionals; consult with early childhood programs across North America, Australia, and New Zealand; and have written many books together.
A Nurture Effect by
Publication Date: 2015-03-01
A fascinating look at the evolution of behavioral science, the revolutionary way it’s changing the way we live, and how nurturing environments can increase people’s well-being in virtually every aspect of our society, from early childhood education to corporate practices. If you want to know how you can help create a better world, read this book. What if there were a way to prevent criminal behavior, mental illness, drug abuse, poverty, and violence? Written by behavioral scientist Tony Biglan, and based on his ongoing research at the Oregon Research Institute,The Nurture Effectoffers evidence-based interventions that can prevent many of the psychological and behavioral problems that plague our society. For decades, behavioral scientists have investigated the role our environment plays in shaping who we are, and their research shows that we now have the power within our own hands to reduce violence, improve cognitive development in our children, increase levels of education and income, and even prevent future criminal behaviors. By cultivating a positive environment in all aspects of society--from the home, to the classroom, and beyond--we can ensure that young people arrive at adulthood with the skills, interests, assets, and habits needed to live healthy, happy, and productive lives. The Nurture Effect details over forty years of research in the behavioral sciences, as well as the author’s own research. Biglan illustrates how his findings lay the framework for a model of societal change that has the potential to reverberate through all environments within society.
What Connected Educators Do Differently by
Publication Date: 2015-02-18
Todd Whitaker, Jeffrey Zoul, and Jimmy Casas are widely acclaimed experts on teaching and leading and are pioneers in the education twitterverse, and now they are sharing their best practices! In What Connected Educators Do Differently, they show how being a connected educator--by using social media to connect with peers across the country and even across the globe--will greatly enhance your own learning and your success in a school or classroom. You'll find out how to create a personal and professional learning network to share resources and ideas, gain support, and make an impact on others. By customizing your professional development in this way, you'll be able to learn what you want, how you want, when you want. Best of all, you'll become energized and inspired by all the great ideas out there and how you can contribute, benefiting both you and your students. Whether you are a teacher or school leader, you will come away from this book with step-by-step advice and fresh ideas to try immediately. Being a connected educator has never been easier or more important than it is right now!