Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Business Source Elite: Home

Database

Business Source Elite

Business Source Elite provides full-text coverage for over 1,000 business publications and economics journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed publications. Business Source Elite contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals including Business Week, Forbes, Harvard Business Review, MIT Sloan Management Review, California Management Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Industrial & Labor Relations Review, Journal of Management Studies, Journal of Marketing Management, Journal of Marketing Research (JMR), Journal of Marketing, Journal of International Marketing, etc. This database includes full text (PDF) coverage dating back as far as 1985. More than 10,100 substantial company profiles from Datamonitor are also included.

Basic Searching Tutorial

Advanced Searching Tutorial

Boolean Operators

Boolean Operators

Sometimes a search can be overly general (results equal too many hits) or overly specific (results equal too few hits). To fine-tune your search, you can use AND, OR, and NOT operators to link your search words together. These operators will help you narrow or broaden your search to better express the terms you are looking for and to retrieve the exact information you need quickly.

USING THE "AND" OPERATOR: If you have a search term that is too general, you can append several terms together using "AND". By stringing key terms together, you can further define your search and reduce the number of results. Note: Unless you define a specific search field, the result list will contain references where all your search terms are located in either the citation, full display or full text.

• For example, type sleep AND walking to find results that refer to both sleep and walking.

USING THE "OR" OPERATOR: In order to broaden a search, you can link terms together by using the "OR" operator. By using "OR" to link your terms together you can find documents on many topics. Linked by this operator, your words are searched simultaneously and independently of each other.

• As an example, search sleep AND walking OR waking to find results that reference the terms "sleep" and "walking", or the term "waking".

USING THE "NOT" OPERATOR: In order to narrow a search, you can link words together by using the "NOT" operator. This operator will help you to filter out specific topics you do not wish included as part of your search.

  • Type: sleep OR walking NOT waking to find results that contain the terms "sleep" or "walking" but not the term "waking".
  • To further define your results, type: sleep AND walking AND waking to constrict the search to include all terms linked by the "AND" operator.