Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Aacn Essentials of Progressive Care Nursing by
Call Number: New RT 120 .I5 A167 2019
Publication Date: 2018-11-08
Endorsed by the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN), this acclaimed textbook sets the standard for progressive care nursing education. Recognizing the learner's need to assimilate foundational knowledge before attempting to master more complex progressive care nursing concepts, the book features a practical building-block organization that starts with the basics and logically moves on to advanced topics. Contains helpful tables and Essential Content cases and AACN Essentials of Progressive Care Nursing. This Fourth Edition is an essential tool for clinicians at the point of care, and those preparing for PCCN® certification in progressive care nursing. *Key Reference Information features normal laboratory and diagnostic values; pharmacology tables; and summary tables of cardiac rhythms, ECG characteristics, and treatment guides. Learning aids include Knowledge Competencies to gauge progress, Principles of Management to summarize key concepts, and "Essential Content" case studies with questions and answers to further reinforce the learners' knowledge.
All-In-One Nursing Care Planning Resource by
Call Number: RT 49 .A45 2016
This 4th Edition provides 100 care plans with the nursing diagnoses and interventions you need to know to care for patients in all settings. It includes care plans for medical-surgical, maternity/OB, pediatrics, and psychiatric-mental health, so you can use just one book throughout your entire nursing curriculum. This edition includes a new care plan addressing normal labor and birth, a new full-color design, new QSEN safety icons, new quick-reference color tabs, and updates reflecting the latest NANDA-I nursing diagnoses and collaborative problems. Color-coded sections for medical-surgical, maternity, pediatric, and psychiatric-mental health nursing care plans make it easier to find information quickly.
Anatomy and Physiology Made Incredibly Easy by
Call Number: New QP 41 .A53 2018
Publication Date: 2017-08-16
Using humor and friendly guidance, this colorful text gives you the pure-and-simple clarity you need to understand the basic structure and functions of all major body systems, while also guiding you through genetics, nutrition, reproduction, and more. This handy quick-reference guide is the ideal NCLEX® study aid, textbook support, or quick refresher for nurses and other healthcare practitioners. Special features include: "Nurse Joy" and "Jake" - expert insights, key concepts, and important care reminders. Practice Makes Perfect - end-of-book NCLEX ® practice questions, for solid exam preparation.
Barron's Nursing School Entrance Exams by
Call Number: RT 79 .G75 2016
A multi-part model exam plus many shorter tests in each of this book's chapters will give nursing school applicants the review and test preparation they need before they take an actual nursing school entrance exam. Though entrance exams vary from one school to another, this manual offers comprehensive coverage of virtually all possible test topics. The book presents a detailed description of the nursing profession, its duties, responsibilities, and career satisfactions. A self-assessment questionnaire that follows will help readers decide if nursing is the right career for them. There are also a series of test-taking strategies that provide readers with detailed advice on how to answer the different question types on each of these exams, followed by a diagnostic test that gives nursing candidates the opportunity to assess their strengths and weaknesses before beginning their review. All of the major content areas, Verbal Ability, Reading Comprehension, Numerical Ability, and Science, are also thoroughly reviewed with sample questions throughout for extra practice.
Basic Geriatric Nursing by
Call Number: RC 954 .W5 2016
Prepare for a successful career in caring for geriatric populations with Williams' Basic Geriatric Nursing, 6th Edition. This easy-to-read bestseller includes the latest information on health care policy and insurance practices, and presents the theories and concepts of aging and appropriate nursing interventions with an emphasis on health promotion. Part of the popular LPN/LVN Threads series, it provides opportunities for enhanced learning with additional figures, an interactive new Study Guide on Evolve, and real-world clinical scenarios that help you apply concepts to practice. Get Ready for the NCLEX#65533; Examination! Section at the end of each chapter includes key points along with new Review Questions for the NCLEX examination and critical thinking, which may be used for individual, small group, or classroom review. Nursing Care Plans with critical thinking questions help in understanding how a care plan is developed, how to evaluate care of a patient, and how to apply knowledge to clinical scenarios. LPN/LVN Threads make learning easier, featuring an appropriate reading level, key terms with phonetic pronunciations and text page references, chapter objectives; special features boxes, and full-color art, photographs, and design.
Bates' Nursing Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking by
Call Number: RC 76 .H674 2017
Master crucial skills in patient assessment with this nursing adaptation of Bates' gold standard resource. Adapted specifically for nursing students, this proven resource offers the time-perfected assessment techniques and vibrant visuals of the classic Bates' to help students develop and practice key skills in physical examination and history taking. Reflecting the most current research in the field, the Second Edition provides evidence-based coverage of key topics, including complete head-to-toe examination, normal vs. abnormal findings, electronic documentation, and considerations for assessment of older adults and children. A vibrant full-color design includes over 1,400 drawings and photographs to clarify key concepts and techniques. New Concept Mastery Alerts improve students' understanding of potentially confusing topics as identified by Lippincott's adaptive learning platform, powered by PrepU. Lippincott CoursePoint+ improves the nursing students' critical thinking and clinical reasoning skills to prepare them for practice.
Brunner and Suddarth's Textbook of Medical-Surgical Nursing by
Call Number: RT 41 .T46 2018
Publication Date: 2017-11-15
Brunner & Suddarth's Textbook of Medical-Surgical Nursing, 14th Edition delivers the complete nursing foundation students need in a format designed for the way they like to learn. This approachable text is accompanied by callouts, questions, and vignettes to help students explore essential patient care practices in real-world terms and gain a more practical understanding of how they'll apply what they've learned in practice. Complete integration with Lippincott CoursePoint allows you to easily map out your entire course, provide personalized student remediation, and simulate real-world nursing scenarios based directly on vignettes in the text, giving your students unparalleled preparation for success in the medical-surgical nursing workforce. Additional information for case studies related to NANDA-I, NIC, NOC and the nursing process is available online. Prioritization Questions have been added to the Critical Thinking Exercises. More than 2,900 NCLEX-style review questions.
Clinical Nursing Calculations by
Call Number: RS 57 .S49 2017
Includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools. Clinical Nursing Calculations is an essential text for teaching dosage calculation to undergraduate nursing students. The text employs the CASE approach, which is a step-by-step method for performing dosage calculations. To facilitate learning, students will find examples in both electronic medication administration record (eMAR) and electronic health record format. This text can be used as a primary text for a dosage calculations course or as a supplemental text within a nursing program or pharmacology course. Three methods of dosage calculation are presented side-by-side in table format for every dosage calculation.* NCLEX#65533;-style review questions are included.* Basic math concepts are highlighted in equations throughout the text for visual learners.
Clinical Nursing Skills by
Call Number: RT 41 .S5826 2017
This comprehensive set of nursing skills and procedures can be used across the nursing curriculum. It also serves as a good procedure manual for hospitals and medical clinics. The most complete, up-to-date, and useful guide to performing current, evidence-based, clinical nursing skills. Current with both the National Council Test Plan for RN and the NCLEX #65533; Clinical Nursing Skills: Basic to Advanced Skills teaches more than 550 nursing skills, from basic to complex. For each skill, students learn how to assess clients, formulate nursing diagnoses, perform procedures according to safe and accepted protocols, evaluate outcomes, and document pertinent data. Organized around the nursing process, the text helps readers understand the overall theory and rationales for each skill and technique. Coverage of evidence-based care, cultural/religious considerations, nursing management, and community-based nursing is provided throughout. Extensive case studies, critical-thinking features, NCLEX-style review questions, and new QSEN activities give students practice applying their knowledge and clinical reasoning. Easily adaptable to any conceptual curriculum model, Clinical Nursing Skills is the definitive resource for best practice nursing standards, guidelines, and competencies.
Clinical Nursing Skills and Techniques by
Call Number: RT 41 .P46 2018
Known for its clear and comprehensive coverage of over 200 basic, intermediate and advanced skills, this widely respected, bestselling text features nearly 1,000 full-color photographs and drawings, a nursing process framework, step-by-step instructions with rationales, and a focus on critical thinking and evidence-based practice. This edition also includes new coverage of patient-centered care and safety guidelines, an enhanced emphasis on QSEN core competencies, and an expanded clinical focus with specialized Clinical Debriefs, Teach-Back, and sample documentation throughout. Unexpected Outcomes and Related Interventions sections highlight what might go wrong and how to appropriately intervene. Video clip icons indicate video clips that are related to skills and procedures in the book and related lessons in Nursing Skills Online. Online checklists and video clips may be downloaded to mobile devices. NEW! Clinical Debriefs are case-based review questions at the end of each chapter that focus on issues such as managing conflict, care prioritization, patient safety, and decision-making. NEW! Streamlined theory content in each chapter features a quick, easy-to-read bullet format to help reduce repetition and emphasize the clinical focus of the book. NEW! Sample documentation for every skill often includes notes by exception in the SBAR format.
Dosage Calculations made Incredibly Easy! by
Call Number: RS 57 .D67 2016
Calculate correct dosages with safety and confidence, with the easy-to-follow nursing expertise of Dosage Calculations Made Incredibly Easy! Fifth edition. This fully illustrated guide offers the complete how-to on calculating dosages for all drug forms and administration routes, with numerous practice exercises and seasoned guidance on interpreting drug orders accurately. Understand class materials more fully, get ready for the NCLEX or certification exam, or refresh your calculation skills with this enjoyable, colorful text. An easy-reference format with clearly worded, bulleted content demonstrated with numerous photos, illustrations, and diagrams will give you systematic direction on calculating dosages of all kinds - starting an infusion, including IV guidelines - choosing administration equipment - dealing with poor handwriting - understanding medication labels and drug abbreviations - avoiding common drug errors.
ECG Interpretation made Incredibly Easy! by
Call Number: RC 683.5 .E5 E256 2016
Deliver safe, accurate care during electrocardiographic monitoring, with the newly updated ECG Interpretation Made Incredibly Easy! Sixth edition. This easy-to-follow, fully illustrated text explains the basics of cardiac physiology, then leads you through recognizing and treating arrhythmias, with step-by-step guidance on current medications, devices, and monitoring equipment. Take advantage of this real world, expert nursing advice to reinforce your class materials, prepare for the NCLEX or certification exam, and strengthen your ECG interpretation skills.
Essentials of Psychiatric Nursing by
Call Number: RC 440 .B665 2017
Offering a unique focus on communication skills, mental health promotion, and evidence-based, recovery-oriented nursing care of people with common mental health disorders, this concise and engaging text presents essential concepts in easy-to-understand language with multiple examples and explanations. Compelling case studies supported by online videos that play out the scenarios in more depth show students how to apply theory to specific patients, providing a seamless transition to the practice world.
Fundamentals of Nursing by
Call Number: New RT 41 .Y558 2020
Publication Date: 2019-02-18
Each chapter features realistic and complex case studies and critical thinking exercises woven throughout the content to help you continually apply what you've learned to actual patient care. Building block approach groups topics and concepts together thematically, in the order needed for readers to build their knowledge. Objective-driven approach presents clearly defined, numbered objectives that coordinate with all content and then wrap up with Objective Summaries. Active learning activities are incorporated throughout every chapter to help readers learn to apply chapter content to broader nursing concepts and realistic patient scenarios. Review and exam questions tied to learning objectives use a building-block style approach that starts at lower Bloom's taxonomy levels in early chapters and builds to more complex levels as readers acquire more knowledge.
Health Policy and Politics : A Nurse's Guide by
Call Number: RT 86.5 .M54 2016
Advanced practice nurses and public policy, naturally -- Agenda setting -- Government response : legislation -- Government regulation : parallel and powerful -- Policy design -- Policy implementation -- Program evaluation -- Impact of the internet and social networking on healthcare policy -- Interprofessional practice, education, research -- Applied healthcare economics and finance for the noneconomics major -- Global connections.
Hemodynamic Monitoring made Incredibly Visual! by
Call Number: RC 670.5 .H45 H46 2016
Perform pressure monitoring safely, accurately, and confidently with the freshly updated Hemodynamic Monitoring Made Incredibly Visual! Hundreds of drawings, flow charts, photos, and diagrams offer essential background on cardiopulmonary anatomy and physiology, nursing principles, and current hemodynamic monitoring technology, in the popular and colorful Made Incredibly Visual style. This easy-to-follow, easy-to-remember content will help you prepare for the NCLEX or certification exam, get clear on concepts discussed in class, and simply upgrade your pressure monitoring skills. Current nursing practice guidelines for hemodynamic monitoring. You'll also get colorful, real-life guidance on vital topics and step-by-step monitoring guidelines including.
HESI Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN Examination by
Call Number: RT 55 .E96 2017
The HESI Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN #65533; Examination, 5th Edition provides a comprehensive, all-in-one review of the information you need to know to not only succeed on the NCLEX-RN exam but also on your program's HESI exit exam. Written in an easy-to-read outline format, this trusted guide breaks down chapters by clinical areas and the concepts emphasized on the NCLEX-RN exam. Rationales are provided for any incorrect answers or areas of weakness to help strengthen your understanding. The companion Evolve website also offers 700 practice questions in both study and exam formats to give you valuable practice using the same electronic testing format you will face on the nursing school exit exam and on the NCLEX-RN exam. Chapters organized by clinical area enables you to easily search for various topics to review. HESI Hint boxes spotlight important clinical information and concepts commonly tested on the NCLEX-RN exam. Critical thinking study questions (with rationales) reinforce key concepts and content. Fill-in-the-blank and prioritizing questions mirror the new alternate item format item types included on the NCLEX-RN exam. Pharmacology tables highlight the need-to-know drug therapy content emphasized on the NCLEX-RN exam.
Holistic Nursing by
Call Number: RT 42 .H65 2016
Holistic Nursing: A Handbook for Practice, Seventh Edition continues as the definitive resource for holistic nursing for both students and professionals. Completely updated and revised, it includes seven new chapters on creative expressions in healing, herbs and dietary supplements, holistic leadership, holistic nursing education, self-care and self-development, advanced holistic nursing practice, and advanced integrative health and well-being practice demonstrated through case study exemplars. With an ideal blend of theoretical and practical content, the Seventh Edition features Dr. Dossey's Theory of Integral Nursing, including an update on global nursing and the UN Millennium goals.
Knowledge Development in Nursing by
Call Number: RT 84.5 .C49 2018
Publication Date: 2017-12-04
Knowledge Development in Nursing: Theory and Process, 10th Edition helps you understand nursing theory and its links with nursing research and practice. It examines the principles of knowledge development, from the relationship between patterns of knowing to their use in evidence-based nursing care. Coverage of the five Patterns of Knowing includes empiric, personal, aesthetic, ethical, and emancipatory knowledge, defining the different types of knowledge and how they relate to each other. Think About It questions sharpen your understanding of the emancipatory knowing process of praxis - a synthesis of thoughtful reflection, caring, and action. Discussion of evidence-based practice provides examples of how the five patterns of knowing may be applied to nursing practice.  NEW! Updated real-life examples bring complex concepts to life.
LGBTQ Cultures by
Call Number: RA 564.9 .H65 L43 2018
Publication Date: 2017-11-16
Drawn from real-world experience and current research, the fully updated LGBTQ Cultures, 3rd Edition paves the way for healthcare professionals to provide well-informed, culturally sensitive healthcare to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) patients. This vital guide fills the LGBTQ awareness gaps, including replacing myths and stereotypes with facts, and measuring the effects of social stigma on health. Vital for all nursing specialties, this is the seminal guide to actively providing appropriate, culturally sensitive care to persons of all sexual orientations and gender identities. Care for LGBTQ patients with awareness, sensitivity, and knowledge . . . Up-to-date statistics on healthcare refusal rates, prominent LGBTQ health issues, and social, psychological, and environmental factors affecting LGBTQ health and healthcare. Ideal best practices guide for all nurse clinicians, nurse educators, community health workers, and policy-makers.
Making Sense of Research in Nursing, Health and Social Care by
Call Number: New R 850 .M68 2018
Publication Date: 2018-02-27
What is research and how does it work in the context of nursing, health, and social care? Now in its Sixth Edition, this easy to read guide provides a concise overview of different research methods and terminology, and helps readers understand how research is implemented in practice. FREE access to SAGE journal articles for students, SAGE videos, seminar notes for lecturers, and more!
Medical-Surgical Nursing by
Call Number: RT 41 .M488 2017
Learn how to become an exceptional caregiver in today's evolving healthcare environment!
Medical-Surgical Nursing, 10th Edition offers up-to-date coverage of the latest trends, hot topics, and clinical developments in the field. Completely revised and updated content explores patient care in various clinical settings and focuses on key topics such as patient safety, NCLEX exam preparation, evidence-based practice, and teamwork. A variety of helpful boxes and tables make it easy for you to find essential information and the accessible writing style and building-block approach make even the most complex concepts easy to grasp. Informatics boxes discuss how technology is used by nurses and patients in healthcare settings. Bridge to NCLEX Examination review questions at the end of each chapter reinforce key content while helping you prepare for the NCLEX examination with both standard and alternate item format questions. NEW! Patient and Caregiver Teaching chapter includes a stronger focus on informatics to reflect the current use of technology as it relates to patient self-management. NEW! Core clinical content focuses on highlighting and incorporating QSEN competencies.
Medical-Surgical Nursing Made Incredibly Easy by
Call Number: RT 51 .M436 2017
Get the vital concepts, data, and how-to on medical-surgical nursing with the newly updated Medical-Surgical Nursing Made Incredibly Easy, 4th Edition. This fun-but-informative guide uses colorful drawings and diagrams to demonstrate the mechanisms and clinical indications of the most common disorders found in each body system--followed by clear-cut direction on assessments, interventions, and evidence-based treatments. An ideal support to class materials and NCLEX® preparation, this is also the perfect on-the-spot refresher for nurses in every kind of medical-surgical practice.
Mosby's 2019 Nursing Drug Reference by
Call Number: RM 301.12 .S55 2019
Put the most trusted name in nursing in your hands. Mosby's 2019 Nursing Drug Reference is a full-color portable nursing drug handbook that makes it easy to find the most vital information on the drugs that nurses administer most frequently. Alphabetical organization by generic name provides quick and easy access to specific drugs, and a full-color design highlights important information. NEW! 15 added monographs provide up-to-date content on newly released, FDA-approved drugs and drug therapies. NEW! BEERS indications included for selected monographs. NEW! Drugs with genetic indications identifiable by easy to spot icon.
NCLEX-RN Questions and Answers made Incredibly Easy by
Call Number: RT 55 .N44 2017
7th Edition is designed to help anyone preparing to take the RN licensing examination. Students and faculty also use the book as a study guide and practice tests for preparing for faculty-made examinations. Throughout the book, the Made Incredibly Easy design, art, and captions help to engage students and present a fun, relaxed, encouraging, and supportive learning experience. Thousands of questions at the application level or above prompt active learning and higher-order thinking. Questions are aligned with the National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) 2016 RN test plan and are written in the style used on the licensing examination. Features: - Reliable NCLEX preparation guidelines and hundreds of test-taking hints and strategies prepare you for NCLEX - All NCLEX-RN question types included are multiple choice, multiple response, hot spot, fill-in-the-blank, drag-and-drop/ordered response, chart/exhibit, as well as graphic, audio, and video questions to prepare you for any type of question you encounter on the actual exam.
Nursing 2017 Drug Handbook by
Call Number: RM 125 .N87 2017
Look for these outstanding features - Completely updated nursing-focused drug monographs featuring over 3,500 generic, brand-name, and combination drugs in an easy A-to-Z format; 49 brand-new FDA-approved drugs in this edition--with 36 new comprehensive drug monographs, alphabetized and conveniently grouped in a handy "new drugs" section. Over 6,000 clinical updates--new dosages and indications. NEW "pregnancy-lactation-reproduction" heading and "dialyzable drug" logo in each drug monograph -NEW appendices covering Antidiarrheals and OTC drugs - Special attention to drug safety issues and concerns (U.S. and Canada). Over 455 Photo guide images of the most popular tablets and capsules - Plus FREE companion Toolkit available online through NDHnow.com; Monthly FDA updates on new drugs, indications, and warnings; Pharmacology videos, audio pronunciation guide, and English-Spanish translator; Equianalgesic dosing guidelines for opioid drugs; Mechanisms and sites of action graphics for selected drugs – NCLEX #65533;-style questions, free CE tests, plus bonus discounts...and more!
Nursing 2020 Drug Handbook by
Call Number: RM 125 .N87 2020
Publication Date: 2019-04-24
Completely updated nursing-focused drug monographs featuring over 3,700 generic, brand-name, and combination drugs in an easy A-to-Z format. 34 brand-new FDA-approved drugs in this edition, including 31 complete monographs--tabbed and conveniently grouped in a handy "new drugs" section for easy retrieval NEW More than 8,100 clinical updates --new dosages and indications, Black Box warnings, adverse reactions, nursing considerations, clinical alerts, and patient teaching information. ISMP-recommended tall-man lettering for look alike-sound alike drugs. Plus companion Toolkit available online through NDHnow.com NCLEX®-style questions, free CE tests, plus bonus discounts...and more!
Nursing Care Planning Made Incredibly Easy! by
Call Number: New RT 41 .N869 2018
Publication Date: 2017-12-20
Get clear on nursing care planning and map the way to positive outcomes--in the classroom and in clinical practice. Learn step-by-step how to build a concept map, develop a nursing diagnosis, and choose realistic outcomes and individualized interventions. This nursing guide leads you expertly through the care plan process, backed by the Made Incredibly Easy series' trademark humor, plentiful illustrations, and down-to-earth explanations. Master the concepts and process of care planning. (NANDA) diagnoses, and Nursing Outcomes Classification (NOC) and Nursing Interventions Classification (NIC) guidelines Nursing Outcomes Classification (NOC), and Nursing Interventions Classification (NIC) guidelines. Guides nursing students and new nurses into the critical thinking and planning skills needed to choose appropriate, effective treatments and interventions. Memory jogger --techniques for remembering vital content.
Nursing Diagnosis Handbook by
Call Number: New RT 48.6 .A35 2020
Publication Date: 2019-03-01
This convenient handbook shows you how to correlate nursing diagnoses with known information about clients on the basis of assessment findings, established medical or psychiatric diagnoses, and the current treatment plan. Extensively revised and updated with the new 2018-2020 NANDA-I approved nursing diagnoses, it integrates the NIC and NOC taxonomies, evidence-based nursing interventions, and adult, pediatric, geriatric, multicultural, home care, safety, and client/family teaching and discharge planning considerations to guide your students in creating unique, individualized care plans. Provides care plans for every NANDA-I approved nursing diagnosis Promotes evidence-based interventions and rationales by including recent or classic research that supports the use of each intervention. Presents examples of and suggested NIC interventions and NOC outcomes in each care plan. 150 NCLEX exam-style review questions are available on Evolve. Easy-to-follow sections I and II guide you through the nursing process and selection of appropriate nursing; Appendixes provide you with valuable information in an easy-to-access location. Safety content emphasizes what must be considered to provide safe patient care. Section I: Gender identity discussion includes information about the caregiver's responsibility for adapting care accordingly. Section II: Bullying, Gender Dysphoria, Medical marijuana, Military families/personnel, Opioid use/abuse, Service animals, Technology addiction, and Veterans. Additional clarification of use of QSEN throughout book.
Nursing Diagnosis Manual: Planning, Individualizing, and Documenting Client Care by
Call Number: RT 48.6 .D643 2016
Everything you need to develop a safe and effective care plan...whenever you need it. Here's the 5th Edition of the resource you'll turn to again and again to select the appropriate diagnosis and to plan, individualize, and document care for more than 850 diseases and disorders. A new, streamlined design makes reference easier than ever. Only in the Nursing Diagnosis Manual will you find for each diagnosis...defining characteristics presented subjectively and objectively - sample clinical applications to ensure you have selected the appropriate diagnoses - prioritized action/interventions with rationales - a documentation section, and much more!
Nursing Ethics : Across the Curriculum and into Practice by
Call Number: RT 85 .B78 2016
Includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools Nursing Ethics: Across the Curriculum and Into Practice, Fourth Edition integrates the concept of nursing ethics across the curriculum by preparing students and professionals for the moral issues encountered in practice. The Fourth Edition has been revised to reflect the evolution of nursing ethics within healthcare; The text is divided into three sections: Foundational Theories, Concepts and Professional Issues; Moving into Ethics Across the Lifespan and Ethics Related to Special Issues focused on specific populations and nursing roles. Key Features: Coverage of the ANA code of Ethics with Interpretive statements as appendix Legal features sections included in most chapters Appendix of case studies and suggestions for discussion; Ethical reflections questions in each chapter; Author recommendations for additional supplemental information per chapter.
Nursing Health Assessment by
Call Number: RT 85 .B78 2016
This updated Second Edition of Nursing Health Assessment: A Best Practice Approach emphasizes health promotion, risk factor reduction, evidence-based thinking, and diagnostic reasoning. The author presents strategies for adapting questions and techniques when communication is challenging, the patient's responses are unexpected, or the patient's condition changes over time. Unique features assist with application, analysis, and critical thinking skill development to better preparing students for practice. Starting with Unit 2, all chapters follow a consistent organization to facilitate understanding: Threaded Case Study, Structure and Function Overview, Acute Assessment, Subjective Data Collection, Objective Data Collection, Evidence-based Critical Thinking, and Tables of Abnormal Findings. Each chapter requires students to use diagnostic reasoning skills to analyze data, document and communicate their findings, and plan care. Normal and abnormal findings are presented in side-by-side columns and thorough and comprehensive examinations are included for each specific topic. Additional features, a robust ancillary program, and book-related media build on the in-text cases to reinforce correct elements of subjective and objective data collection and variations necessary for different problems, age groups, and cultures.
Nursing Today : Traditions and Trends by
Call Number: RT 82 .N874 2015
An engaging approach features lively cartoons, chapter objectives, bibliographies, and colorful summary boxes. Nursing Today: Transition and Trends, 8th Edition helps you make a successful transition from student to practicing nurse. Thorough coverage includes all of the most important issues faced by the new nurse, preparing you to succeed in a professional nursing career. Critical Thinking boxes offer questions and exercises asking you to apply what you have learned to clinical practice.
Pharmacology made Incredibly Easy by
Call Number: RM 125 .N846 2017
Nursing Pharmacology Made Incredibly Easy covers pharmacology facts, using the Incredibly Easy Series, light-hearted, entertaining style. Coverage includes: - Pharmacology fundamentals, including sources of drugs, how they are administered, and how they are used in the body - Therapeutic classes of drugs to treat all body systems, plus commonly prescribed pain medications, anti-infectives, antineoplastics, drugs for fluid and electrolyte balance, and more - Nursing process implications for each drug class - Adverse reactions and potentially dangerous drug interactions.
Policy and Politics in Nursing and Health Care by
Call Number: RT 86.5 .P58 2016
Featuring analysis of cutting-edge healthcare issues and first-person stories, Policy & Politics in Nursing and Health Care, 7th Edition is the leader in helping students develop skills in influencing policy in today's changing health care environment. Discussions include the latest updates on conflict management, health economics, lobbying, the use of media, and working with communities for change. Comprehensive coverage of healthcare policies and politics provides a broader understanding of nursing leadership and political activism, as well as complex business and financial issues. Taking Action essays include personal accounts of how nurses have participated in politics and what they have accomplished. NEW! Nine new chapters ensure you have the most up-to-date information on key topics such as ethical dimensions of policy and politics, patient engagement, public health, women's reproductive health, emergency preparedness, new health insurance exchanges, and much more. NEW! Emphasis on evidence-based policy throughout the text. NEW! A list of web links is included in most chapters for further study.
Professional Nursing Practice : Concepts and Perspectives by
Call Number: RT 84.5 .K69 2016
Professional Nursing Practice: Concepts and Perspectives, Seventh Edition, is intended as a text for registered nurses who are in transition or bridge programs to achieve a baccalaureate or higher degree in nursing. It may also be used in generic nursing programs or in transition or bridge programs for vocational nurses (LPNs or LVNs) to complete the professional nursing baccalaureate degree. Professional Nursing Practice helps nursing students explore and understand the nurse's role in the health care environment with coverage on topics including nursing history, theory, ethics, and law, as well as nursing roles, issues, and changes in the profession. Fully updated, this edition includes more information on Quality and Safety Education for Nurses (QSEN), global health, and nursing theory and research. This resource explores the changing health care system especially related to health care economics, nursing in a culture of violence, and nursing in a culturally and spiritually diverse world.
Psychiatric Mental Health Nursing by
Call Number: RC 440 .T693 2018
Psychiatric Mental Health Nursing, DavisPlus Resources, and Davis Edge work together to create an interactive learning experience for students and complete teaching materials for instructors. DavisPlus equips instructors with the lesson plans and activities they need to create active classroom where students can apply what they''re learning. Davis Edge tracks student progress and assesses their knowledge in real time until they've mastered the must-know concepts. Clearly written, comprehensive coverage of psychiatric mental-health nursing delivers what nursing students need to meet the challenges of health care today. Its evidence-based, holistic approach to nursing practice focuses on both physiological and psychological disorders. Designed to be used in longer psychiatric mental-health nursing courses, this text provides students with a comprehensive grounding in therapeutic approaches as well as must-know DSM-5 disorders and nursing interventions.
Psychiatric Nursing by
Call Number: New RC 44 .K45 2019
Publication Date: 2018-08-17
Covering the field's latest trends and treatments, Psychiatric Nursing, 8th Edition provides you with the solid, therapeutic skills you need to deliver safe and effective psychiatric nursing care. This new edition features a unique, three-pronged approach to psychotherapeutic management which emphasizes the nurse's three primary tools: themselves and their relationship with patients, medications, and the environment. NEW! Chapter on Models for Working with Psychiatric Patients revised as new chapter on Emotional Focused Model of Behavior. NEW! Psychopharmacology, include the latest drugs used for managing psychiatric disorders. Update to Communicate Professionally chapter includes methods of communication including social media and other current forms of technology. Update to Variables Affecting The Therapeutic Environment: Violence and Suicide chapter reorganizes how the five-phase assault cycle is presented so it flows better and is easier to comprehend. Several of the clinical disorders chapters such as the Schizophrenia, Depressive Disorders, and Anxiety Disorders updated with the latest information on treatments and drugs.
Psychiatric Nursing made Incredibly Easy! by
Call Number: RC 440 .P764 2016
Written in the award-winning Incredibly Easy style, this invaluable reference is packed with the most up-to-date information on more than 70 psychiatric disorders. Clear language and a simple organization keep information concise and easy to find. The reference is organized by disorders and includes an overview of psychiatric nursing. Numerous icons provide the reader with tips on caring for psychiatric patients from experts, the latest research, cultural considerations, and the latest news in psychopharmacology. Memory joggers and quick quizzes reinforce learning. An appendix of Web resources is included for further study.
Reading, Understanding, and Applying Nursing Research by
Call Number: RT 81.5 .F35 2017
AJN Book of the Year! What is the evidence? How do you find it? How do you evaluate it? Put the evidence to work in your practice! The 5th Edition of this AJN Book of the Year shows you how to integrate today's best scientific knowledge into your clinical decision-making. Step by step, you'll learn to effectively evaluate and apply nursing research and to understand its potential impact on the quality of your patient care. Look for the Plus Code inside new, printed texts--your key to unlocking your Davis Digital eBook online at DavisPlus.
Reflections on Nursing by
Call Number: RT 82 .A44 2017
Offering life- and career-changing moments in nurses' lives, the 80 true stories in Reflections on Nursing reveal nursing at its most demanding and fulfilling. Written mainly by nurses offering care at home, hospital, or hospice, these first-person stories convey the professional burdens, personal growth, and inner realizations found in the course of patient care. Experience the challenges and hard-earned wisdom of these real-life nursing moments.
Respiratory Care Made Incredibly Easy! by
Call Number: New RC 735.5 .R4645 2019
Publication Date: 2018-09-15
Offering the essential terms, skills, and equipment how-to's you need to successfully treat the most common respiratory disorders, this down-to-earth guide helps you grasp respiratory physiology, pathophysiology, and pharmacology in clear and simple language. NEW content on the latest respiratory modalities and updated nursing guidelines. Visually demonstrates anatomy and physiology, the components of treatments and when and how to apply them, and the causes, symptoms, and treatment of obstructive, restrictive, vascular, and neoplastic lung disorders Ideal reference and review for nursing students, new nurses, and respiratory therapists, with clear, concise direction on areas such as: Respiratory assessment techniques Diagnostic procedures Airway maintenance Oxygen delivery Chest drainage Suctioning Ventilatory support Treating infection and inflammation Assessing and treating traumatic injuries and other respiratory emergencies Care of patients receiving extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO) and end-tidal CO2 monitoring Recognizing an asthma attack Preoperative and postoperative care for patients having a thoracotomy or lung transplant Computed tomography (CT) and x-ray imaging.
Saunders 2016-2017 Strategies for Test Success : Passing Nursing School and the NCLEX exam by
Call Number: RT 55 .S4875 2016
This 4th Edition is updated to reflect the most current NCLEX test plans. Its invaluable guide covers key topics like time management, critical thinking, and problem solving, with tips to help you overcome test anxiety and develop effective study habits. Learn how to confidently evaluate and identify the correct answer for a variety of test question types, including alternate item formats, with chapters on preparing for nursing exams, prioritization methods, and pharmacology questions, and practice your skills and gain realistic test-taking experience with the book and Evolve site's 1,200 practice questions. A Reducing Test Anxiety chapter offers simple strategies to control test-induced stress and gain the confidence needed to pass exams. A Developing Study Skills chapter provides helpful tips on improving time management for more efficient exam preparation. An emphasis on comprehensive test preparation helps you develop, refine, and apply the reasoning skills you need to succeed throughout nursing school and on the NCLEX examination. Helpful Tips for the Beginning Nursing Student highlight the most important concepts needed for exam success. Online practice questions let you apply the strategies learned from the text in a realistic electronic testing environment. A fun, 4-color design features cartoons and bold designs to help engage visual learners. NEW! Thoroughly updated content reflects the most current NCLEX test plans. NEW! Addition of SI units and removal of trade drug names reflect the upcoming changes to the NCLEX-RN test plan. NEW! 200 new practice questions bring the overall total to 1,200 questions on the Evolve site. NEW! Two-year revision cycle ensures that the content is current and covers all of the question types found on the NCLEX exam.
Teaching in Nursing : A Guide for Faculty by
Call Number: RT 71 .T336 2016
Recommended by the NLN for comprehensive CNE prep, this insightful text is the only one of its kind to cover all three components of teaching: instruction, curriculum, and evaluation. As it walks through the day-to-day challenges of teaching, readers will benefit from its expert guidance on key issues, such as curriculum and test development, diverse learning styles, the redesign of healthcare systems, and advancements in technology and information. Extensive information on online education discusses the use of webinars and other practical guidance for effective online instruction. Evidence-based teaching boxes cover issues, such as how to do evidence-based teaching; applications of evidence-based teaching; implications for faculty development, administration, and the institution; and how to use the open-ended application questions at the end of each chapter for faculty-guided discussion. NEW! Chapter on Interprofessional Education and Collaborative Practice focuses on the collaboration of care across patient care providers, emphasizing clear communication and shared patient outcomes.
Test Success : Test-taking Techniques for Beginning Nursing Students by
Call Number: RT 55 .N77 2016
* A complete review of core concepts. * Approximately 900 questions (Alternate format, too!) * Test-taking hints and rationales for correct and incorrect answers. Practice questions in the text and online at DavisPlus introduce beginning nursing students to the variety of testing formats, including alternate-item format questions that they'll encounter throughout their nursing education and on the NCLEX exam. Invaluable coverage enhances critical thinking, time management, and effective study habits through proven techniques, improving classroom performance and test-taking. Thoroughly updated and revised, the 7th Edition provides more alternate-item-format questions reflecting the latest NCLEX-RN #65533; test plan as well as a wealth of test-taking tips to reduce anxiety and build confidence for Test Success!
Transition from Clinician to Educator by
Call Number: RT 62 .F74 2017
Awarded Second Place in the 2016 AJN Book of the Year Awards in the Nursing Education/Continuing Education/Professional Development Category! As the population continues to age and retire, the shortage of qualified nurse educators continues to grow. Simultaneously, student demand is also increasing. In order to address this current and future need, organizations are looking toward practicing clinicians to fill the gap. Transition from Clinician to Educator: A Practical Approach is a hands-on guide to prepare future educators who are entering the world of education. Written in an accessible style, it focuses on real issues that new educators will face as they move into the classroom. With topics drawn from the authors' own experiences, this text is an essential resource to understanding the intricacies involved in being a successful educator.
Trauma Nursing by
Call Number: New RD 93.95 .T73 2020
Publication Date: 2019-09-05
The thoroughly updated fifth edition guides you through all phases of care - from preventive care and the time of injury to the resuscitative, operative, critical, intermediate, and rehabilitative stages. Plus, new chapters address unique trauma patient populations including pregnant women, children, the elderly, bariatric individuals, burned patients, those with a history of substance abuse and organ donors. Disaster preparedness, response and recovery for mass casualty incidents prepares students to act quickly and confidently in the event of a disaster, with guidelines for initial response and sustained response. The latest sepsis protocols, opioid use and pain/sedation protocols, and treating injured patients with diabetes. Special populations coverage prepares you to meet the needs of unique trauma patient populations including pregnant women, children, the elderly, bariatric individuals, burn patients, those with a history of substance abuse and organ donors. Coverage of specific issues that affect all patients regardless of their injury, gives you a solid understating of mechanism of injury, traumatic shock, patient/family psychosocial responses to trauma, pain, anxiety, delirium and sleep management; infection; wound healing, and nutrition. Tables and illustrations throughout add clarity to the content being discussed. All new content includes information on cultural sensitivity, care for caregivers, and how to handle self-harm injuries and suicide. Certification review questions help you to prepare for certification by listing the correct answers and rationales. Current recommendations for measuring fluid administration responsiveness.
Understanding Patient Safety, Third Edition by
Call Number: New R 729.8 .W335 2018
Publication Date: 2017-11-23
Understanding Patient Safety is "must read" for those seeking to master the clinical, organizational, and systems issues of patient safety. In this bestselling primer, patient safety pioneer Robert Wachter and Kiran Gupta put all the essential tools and principles at your fingertips. Engaging and accessible, the book is filled with high-yield cases, analyses, tables, graphics, along with key points and references--all designed to help optimize quality and safety. Its second section surveys specific types of medical errors, including those related to surgery, medications, diagnosis, transition and handoff, and infections. The third section covers proven solutions, from establishing reporting systems, to creating a culture of safety. The third edition reflects pivotal new developments in the field, including major updates in diagnostic errors, information technology and patient safety, ambulatory safety, and clinician burnout.
Wound Care : made Incredibly Easy! by
Call Number: RD 93.95 .W68 2016
Confused by the complexities of wound care? Worried about doing assessments and procedures correctly? Let Wound Care Made Incredibly Easy! be your guide! Tackle the fundamentals of wound care the fun way! Get all the basics on wound care the fundamental skills and science you need, in easy-to-remember ways. Wound and skin assessment tool Expert insight and step-by-step direction! Get the complete how-to on essential nursing procedures. This is the wound care book you’ve been looking for the basics in simple terms, packed with humor and real-life examples. Practical illustrations throughout focus on helping you learn with ease with multiple-choice questions (and answers) at end of every chapter.